Unboxing Kanato & Shuu – Union Creative figures

They came in the mail yesterday!! And dear lord the parcel was HUGE. (It didn’t help I had Alter’s 1/8 Archer in there too, hehe.) btw important announcement at the bottom of this post. please notice! orz

Like seriously! these boxes are a bit over a foot tall! They look nice, but man they are big.

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

Honestly, I like this type better than window-box display. I want big pictures, not some hard-to-see-thru-layers-of-plastic nonsense. I wish these had official artwork from the game though. Well, at least they aren’t tainted by the anime renditions (not that the anime looks bad! I really like it! I’m just so picky with printed art.)

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

The front opens, um, like a door. If that makes any sense.

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

I lifted them out of the box and pulled off the top clear case. The bases are to the left of each one.

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

Yup, weird triangle bases. Kanato’s has four pegs, and Shuu’s has two pegs. Also that’s Shuu’s jacket. It slips on and off easily, really cool!

Ok well, here they are~

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure
And omg omg- ERMAHGERD! I was SHOCKED at how much more I liked them in real life.

I really anticipated these figures, but was still a little unsure if they’d look as awesome as my other scales. My stupid photos don’t really do them justice (they really don’t! For some reason their shirts look a little blue but they aren’t.) They style feels different than how Alter does their figures, but I think they are just as impressive!

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

There’s a lot of little details, like the seams and simulated stitching and stuff. I like how they took the time to give them different skintones, since Kanato is supposed to be noticeably pale. They even painted their fingernails?!

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

It’s a shame Union couldn’t add in the cord that should go from the mp3 player on his choker to his ear. He’s obviously supposed to be holding an earbud, like the official artwork.

diabolik lovers kanato shuu

So pretty… I’m glad Union used the game’s art as a reference. They obviously used the anime as a reference as well, and I can’t really blame them. It’s hard taking something that’s 2D and making it 3D, especially when the source artwork is really traditional with a lot of complicated shading. The anime has pretty consistent imagery of the characters from many angles, makes it easier I think. These figures are a pretty good mix of both influences. 🙂

And now some pics of them together! Yay!

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

Oh and Kanato’s bear can be shifted out of his arms. Actually, I had to move it to get the packing plastic out. Teddy (not pictured, oops) looks pretty good on his own despite having the necessary indentations.

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

I kind of want to make him hold a watermelon or something…

wait a minute…

I have an idea-

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

AHEM. Moving on. >.>

Where was I? Oh yeah, I was also surprised by how big the figures themselves were. Union didn’t really list a scale, and I didn’t look at the height in cm ahead of time.

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure uta no prince

DEFINITELY NOT 1/8 SCALE OMG. Look at how they tower over my Uta no Prince 1/8 scales! The idols have been dwarfed! X’D

So are they kind of like 1/7 then? I dunno but they look good from across my room. Even amidst all the clutter and stuff I keep on my dresser. ^_^

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

YAY MORE CUTIES TO THE PILE!!! XDD

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

diabolik lovers kanato shuu union creative menshdge figure

So that’s the Diabolik Lovers figures of Kanato and Shuu Sakamaki, brought to us by Union Creative in their mensHdge line. Here’s hoping they sold well enough to get more characters ;_;

diabolik lovers kanato shuu reiji subaru laito ayato

SERIOUSLY NEED.
You can email them too and they reply in english.
info@union-creative . jp (without spaces of course)

4 thoughts on “Unboxing Kanato & Shuu – Union Creative figures

  1. Billy says:

    Oh wow they’re taller than what I had imagined them to be 😮
    I don’t usually buy scales from Union Creative because they seem really expensive but in the end they’re quite detailed and impressive. The “bloodied” version of these guys look cool but kinda creepy at the same time lol.
    Who would’ve thought that you could manipulate them so it looks like they’re kinda hugging lol.
    Thanks for sharing/showcasing these two!

    • Lehst says:

      I know right?! Shockingly tall! Yeah the blood versions are cool too! Too bad they would cost me way too much, I wonder if Animate sold a lot of them.
      Manipulate? No- I mean- I plead the fifth! (hehe yes, let’s put the evil vampires in their place 😄 )
      And no problem, thanks for checking them out! : D

  2. I am really glad that you took so many pictures. The official pictures made Shu’s face look…odd? Something seemed weird with his face to me but your pictures remedied that for the most part XD. You really can notice the anime influence in the figures, especially with the ends of their hair shading. I hope they make more figures, not that I can afford them, but still. One can dream lol.

    • Lehst says:

      :3 yeah even when I can’t afford a figure or doll I love looking for pictures of it. I have too many pictures saved from the net xD

      Yeah I totally agree about the hair shading. I will certainly go broke if they do release more, but I would have the biggest smile a penniless person could have.

Leave a Reply

